Just one worry

1588

Alan Watts was born in January 1915 and died in November in 1973. He was a philosopher, writer and public speaker. He talks about what, in my opinion, is one of the toughest decisions that we are forced to make in life.

If the purpose of life is being happy, what would you prefer? Earning money and doing something that you hate for the rest of your life? But then, you wouldn’t be doing something that fulfils you.

The other choice is doing something that you love for the rest of your life, but what pays the bills while you live the fantasy? Is it a lack of sense of reality? I don’t think so: I agree with Alan Watts. As he said, if you really like what you are doing, you can eventually master it. And then, you will be able to get a good fee for whatever it is. So don’t worry too much.

Anyways, there is one thing that does worry me: the fact that we’re living in a world that is often pushing us towards the wrong decision.

I recommend you listen to the audio while you read it. It is very touching.

Read the article here

Juan Diego Páez 8B

One Comment to “Just one worry”

  1. This was one of the first Alan Watts segments I heard which is wonderful. In 2010 I left my corporate career and began traveling (the action which is most in my DNA). In my career I worked as a web consultant and designer so I’ve made a little income here and there doing that freelance, but my passion is writing, traveling, and doing humanitarian work. So, that’s what I’ve done. There have been a few occasions that I’ve had to sleep on the streets of certain cities I am traveling, but I have never seen myself as “homeless” as I’ve always seen earth as being “home.” All that is to say, since 2010 I have only worked at doing things that I enjoy (writing, meeting people, counseling, giving group talks, performing music, and the vast well of other things I enjoy doing on this marvelous planet) and have never felt more fulfilled. I work at least 12 hours a day, providing services that I every so often receive payment for, but it doesn’t matter. Money comes and goes but as long as we build relationships and understand our connection to one another we are always wealthy and have what we need to live well.

Leave a comment